What we like
- Full ingredient list and total blend size are published on the label
- Includes some ingredients with human research, such as gymnema and Panax ginseng
- Liquid format for people who dislike capsules
- 60-day money-back guarantee on all packages
- Six-bottle package brings the price to $49 per bottle
Watch out for
- 200 mg proprietary blend split across 23 ingredients, so each is far below studied doses
- Only 0.7 mcg of chromium, about 2% of the Daily Value
- Contains guarana and green tea but does not disclose caffeine content
- Label (1 mL daily) and FAQ (two droppers daily) give conflicting directions
- No single-bottle option; the cheapest order is two bottles
- Marketing includes a diabetes management e-book and testimonials about stopping medication
- Refund requires a return authorization and you pay return shipping
What is Sugar Defender?
Sugar Defender is a liquid dietary supplement sold in 60 mL dropper bottles and marketed as a “blood sugar support formula.” The sales page, signed by a creator named Tom Green, says the drops support healthy glucose levels, all-day energy and natural weight loss, and lists the company as Sugar Defender Research. The label states that the product is distributed by sugardefender.com from an address in Aurora, Colorado, and the order page says sales are handled by the retailer BuyGoods.
We analyzed the official sales and order pages, the published supplement facts label, the refund policy and the research on the main ingredients. We did not test the product on people. The short version: the label is unusually revealing, and what it reveals is a very small dose spread across a very long ingredient list.
How Sugar Defender claims to work
The official site describes an “advanced blend of 24 proven ingredients” and highlights eight of them: eleuthero, Coleus forskohlii, maca root, African mango, guarana, gymnema, ginseng and chromium. Each gets a short benefit claim, for example that African mango is a “fat burning agent” and chromium “reduces obesity and lowers blood pressure.” The page also asks whether readers suffer from “mid-day energy crashes” and brain fog and presents the drops as a solution.
Some of the marketing is concerning for a blood sugar product. The page lists scientific references about diabetes remission that have nothing to do with this formula, offers a free e-book called “Learn How to Manage Type II Diabetes” with multi-bottle orders, and displays customer quotes describing hopes of getting off prescription diabetes medicine. A dietary supplement cannot treat diabetes, and no one should reduce or stop glucose-lowering medication because of a supplement. That decision belongs to you and your doctor, based on lab results.
What the ingredients actually do
The supplement facts label lists a 1 mL serving with 60 servings per bottle. It discloses two things: 0.7 mcg of chromium (2% of the Daily Value) and a 200 mg proprietary herbal blend. That blend contains 23 named ingredients, starting with maca root and continuing through grape seed, guarana, African mango, eleuthero, astragalus, green tea, gymnema, Coleus forskohlii, capsicum, grapefruit seed, Panax ginseng, raspberry ketones, several amino acids (L-glutamine, L-tyrosine, L-arginine, beta-alanine, L-ornithine, L-tryptophan, L-carnitine), GABA and monoammonium glycyrrhizinate, a licorice-derived compound. Other ingredients include deionized water, citrus extract, natural flavors, stevia and xylitol.
Here is why the numbers matter. If 200 mg were divided evenly among 23 ingredients, each would average under 9 mg per milliliter. Even at the brand’s suggested two droppers per day, that is a small fraction of the amounts used in research:
- Chromium: 0.7 mcg is far below the adult Adequate Intake of 20 to 35 mcg per day listed by the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, and studies of chromium for glucose and weight used 200 to 1,000 mcg. At this dose, chromium is effectively decorative. See our chromium page.
- Gymnema: the best-researched blood sugar herb in the formula. A small placebo-controlled trial in adults with impaired glucose tolerance used 300 mg twice daily. Sugar Defender’s entire blend is 200 mg per serving. More on gymnema.
- Panax ginseng: NCCIH notes a 2022 review suggesting cardiometabolic improvements in people with prediabetes and diabetes, but calls the overall evidence for blood sugar control inconclusive and conflicting.
- Guarana and green tea: both contain caffeine, and the label does not say how much. The Office of Dietary Supplements notes that caffeine’s short-term effect on energy expenditure fades with habitual use.
- African mango and Coleus forskohlii: marketed for fat burning. The Office of Dietary Supplements describes small, methodologically weak trials for African mango and no effect on body weight for coleus in the few short trials available.
- Maca and eleuthero: traditional energy herbs with small, mixed human studies and no meaningful blood sugar research.
- Grape seed extract: a meta-analysis of 50 trials found a small drop in fasting glucose (about 2 mg/dL) and no change in HbA1c, at doses far higher than this blend can provide.
- Capsicum and L-carnitine: a meta-analysis of 14 trials found capsaicin had no meaningful effect on blood glucose or insulin. Carnitine studies summarized by the Office of Dietary Supplements used 0.25 to 4 grams per day, roughly a thousand times more than a share of this blend.
In short, several ingredients have some research, but the label makes it clear that none can be present at studied doses. The formula reads like a long list designed to look comprehensive rather than a dose-driven blend.
There is also a dosing inconsistency. The label says to take 1 mL per day, which would make a bottle last 60 days. The FAQ on the order page says to take two full droppers under the tongue each morning, and the packages are sold as 30-day supplies per bottle. We suggest following the label or your doctor’s advice, and noting that even the higher FAQ dose only provides about 400 mg of total blend.
Who it may suit, and who should skip it
Sugar Defender may appeal to people who strongly prefer a liquid over capsules and want a broad mix of botanicals. Even so, given the dose math, we would not expect noticeable effects on glucose readings, and any changes in energy are more likely to come from its undisclosed caffeine.
You should skip it, or talk to your doctor first, if any of these apply:
- You take insulin, metformin, sulfonylureas or other diabetes medicines. Gymnema, ginseng and chromium may lower blood glucose, and combining them with these drugs can add to the risk of low blood glucose (hypoglycemia).
- You are pregnant or breastfeeding, or under 18 (the label itself excludes minors and advises asking a physician in pregnancy).
- You are sensitive to caffeine, have heart rhythm problems, high blood pressure or anxiety.
- You have high blood pressure, heart or kidney disease and want to avoid licorice derivatives, which can raise blood pressure and lower potassium according to a meta-analysis.
- You take antidepressants or other serotonin-affecting drugs, since the blend includes L-tryptophan, or you have a liver condition, given the green tea extract.
Price, guarantee and where to buy
At the time of our review, the official order page offered three packages and no single-bottle option: two bottles at $79 each ($158 plus shipping), three bottles at $69 each ($207 with free U.S. shipping and two e-books), and six bottles at $49 each ($294 with free U.S. shipping and the same e-books). Prices on these sales pages change often, so check the checkout page before buying.
Every package carries a 60-day money-back guarantee. The FAQ says you can return even empty bottles for a refund minus shipping and handling, while the return policy requires you to request a return authorization by email within 60 days and pay return shipping yourself. Keep your order confirmation and contact support well before day 60. The site warns that it does not honor refunds for purchases from unauthorized sellers, so if you buy, use the official website only.
Our verdict
We give Sugar Defender 2.8 out of 5. It earns points for publishing a full ingredient list and the size of its blend, for a 60-day guarantee and for including a few ingredients, such as gymnema and ginseng, with some human research. It loses points because a 200 mg blend split across 23 ingredients cannot deliver the amounts studied, the chromium dose is negligible, caffeine is undisclosed, dosing instructions conflict, and the marketing leans on diabetes management claims and testimonials about stopping medication that a supplement cannot support. If you are concerned about your blood sugar, a conversation with your doctor and an A1C test will tell you far more than any drops. If you still want a supplement, look for one that discloses meaningful doses of each ingredient.
Ingredients and the evidence behind them
| Ingredient | Amount | Why it’s included | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chromium | 0.7 mcg per 1 mL serving (as chromium picolinate), 2% Daily Value | Included for its role in insulin action, but the labeled amount is a tiny fraction of the 200 to 1,000 mcg used in studies. | Moderate |
| Gymnema | Part of a 200 mg proprietary herbal blend per 1 mL serving (individual amount not disclosed); listed as Gymnema sylvestre leaf extract | The brand's main blood sugar botanical, promoted for healthy heart and blood sugar. | Limited |
| Maca root | Part of a 200 mg proprietary herbal blend per 1 mL serving (individual amount not disclosed); listed first in the blend as maca root extract | Marketed by the brand to boost energy. | Limited |
| Grape seed extract | Part of a 200 mg proprietary herbal blend per 1 mL serving (individual amount not disclosed) | A polyphenol-rich extract that may support cardiovascular markers. | Moderate |
| Guarana | Part of a 200 mg proprietary herbal blend per 1 mL serving (individual amount not disclosed); caffeine content not disclosed | A caffeine-containing seed marketed to stimulate metabolism. | Limited |
| African mango | Part of a 200 mg proprietary herbal blend per 1 mL serving (individual amount not disclosed); listed as Irvingia gabonensis fruit extract | Marketed by the brand as a fat-burning agent. | Limited |
| Eleuthero | Part of a 200 mg proprietary herbal blend per 1 mL serving (individual amount not disclosed); listed as Eleutherococcus senticosus root extract | An adaptogen the brand says increases energy and reduces fatigue. | Limited |
| Coleus forskohlii | Part of a 200 mg proprietary herbal blend per 1 mL serving (individual amount not disclosed); listed as Coleus forskohlii root extract | Marketed by the brand as a fat-burning aid. | Limited |
| Korean ginseng | Part of a 200 mg proprietary herbal blend per 1 mL serving (individual amount not disclosed); listed as Panax ginseng root extract | Included for possible effects on blood glucose and fatigue. | Limited |
| Green tea extract | Part of a 200 mg proprietary herbal blend per 1 mL serving (individual amount not disclosed); listed as Camellia sinensis leaf extract | A catechin and caffeine source included for metabolism support. | Limited |
| Cayenne pepper | Part of a 200 mg proprietary herbal blend per 1 mL serving (individual amount not disclosed); listed as Capsicum annuum fruit extract | A capsaicin source included for metabolism support. | Limited |
| L-carnitine | Part of a 200 mg proprietary herbal blend per 1 mL serving (individual amount not disclosed); listed as L-carnitine base | An amino acid derivative included for fat metabolism and insulin sensitivity. | Limited |
Each ingredient links to its own page with the research, typical doses and safety notes.
Side effects and who should avoid it
Most ingredients are unlikely to cause problems at the small amounts in this blend, but several are pharmacologically active. Gymnema, Panax ginseng and chromium may lower blood glucose, so anyone taking insulin, metformin, sulfonylureas or other diabetes medicines should talk to their doctor first and watch for signs of low blood sugar such as shakiness, sweating, hunger, dizziness or confusion. Guarana and green tea add an undisclosed amount of caffeine that can cause jitteriness, insomnia or a faster heart rate, and green tea extract has been linked to rare liver injury. The blend contains a licorice derivative, which can raise blood pressure and lower potassium in sensitive people, and L-tryptophan, which may be a concern with antidepressants and other serotonin-affecting drugs. The label states the product is not intended for people under 18 and advises consulting a physician during pregnancy, nursing or when taking any medication. Never use a supplement in place of diabetes treatment.
FAQ
Does Sugar Defender lower blood sugar?
There is no published clinical trial on Sugar Defender itself. Some of its ingredients, such as gymnema and ginseng, have been studied for blood sugar, but the label shows a 200 mg blend split across 23 ingredients, so each is present at far less than the amounts used in research. It should never replace diabetes medication or medical care.
How much chromium is in Sugar Defender?
The label lists 0.7 mcg of chromium per 1 mL serving, which is 2% of the Daily Value. Studies of chromium for blood sugar and weight generally used 200 to 1,000 mcg per day.
Does Sugar Defender contain caffeine?
Yes. It contains guarana seed and green tea leaf extracts, both natural caffeine sources, but the label does not state the caffeine amount.
Can I take Sugar Defender with metformin or insulin?
Only with your doctor's approval. Several ingredients may lower blood glucose and could add to the effect of diabetes medicines, raising the risk of low blood sugar. Do not change or stop prescribed medication on your own.
How long does a bottle last?
Each bottle holds 60 mL. At the label's 1 mL daily serving it would last about 60 days, but the brand's FAQ recommends two droppers daily and sells each bottle as a 30-day supply.
What is the refund policy?
The brand offers a 60-day money-back guarantee. The return policy requires you to request a return authorization by email within 60 days of purchase and pay return shipping, and the FAQ says shipping and handling fees are not refunded.
Sources
- sugardefender.com
- sugardefender.com/b/order-now.php
- sugardefender.com/info/return-policy.html
- sugardefender.com/assets/img/label-sugardender.jpg
- ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Chromium-HealthProfessional
- nccih.nih.gov/health/diabetes-and-dietary-supplements
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32460589
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34467577
- nccih.nih.gov/health/asian-ginseng
- ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/WeightLoss-HealthProfessional
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31880030
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33998636
- ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Carnitine-HealthProfessional
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28660884
- niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/preventing-problems/low-blood-glucose-hypoglycemia
