What we like
- Unusually long 365-day money-back guarantee
- Includes bacopa and lion's mane, which have some early evidence for cognition
- Stimulant-free liquid that can be added to a drink
- Lowest per-bottle price ($39) on the six-bottle package
Watch out for
- No ingredient amounts disclosed at all, not even blend totals
- Dosing of one drop per day cannot plausibly deliver studied doses
- Marketed around a 'pineal gland' concept with no evidence for memory benefits
- Scientific reference list is padded with unrelated studies on prostate, iodine and seaweed
- Ginkgo and pine bark may raise bleeding risk with blood thinners
- Manufacturer and country of manufacture not disclosed
What is Pineal Guardian?
Pineal Guardian is a liquid dietary supplement sold in a 2 fl oz (60 mL) dropper bottle through ClickBank from its official site, pinealguardianvip.com. The brand is listed as The Pineal Guardian, and the shipping policy names a fulfillment warehouse in Tallmadge, Ohio. The product’s name refers to the pineal gland, a small gland deep in the brain that produces the sleep hormone melatonin.
The sales page lists nine ingredients: pine bark extract, tamarind, chlorella, ginkgo biloba, spirulina, lion’s mane mushroom, Bacopa monnieri, moringa and neem. It does not list the amount of any of them, the type of extract, or the liquid base they are suspended in, and we could not find a readable Supplement Facts panel on the site. That makes Pineal Guardian a fully undisclosed formula.
We analyzed the sales page, its policies and the published research on each ingredient. We did not test the product ourselves.
How Pineal Guardian claims to work
The product’s name and branding draw on a popular online idea: that the pineal gland becomes “calcified” or blocked over time, often blamed on fluoride, and that “decalcifying” or “detoxing” it can improve sleep, mental clarity or even spiritual awareness. The site’s scientific reference list includes a review on developmental fluoride neurotoxicity, along with a long list of papers on prostate health, iodine, seaweed and shilajit that have no connection to the listed ingredients.
The visible claims on the sales page are more modest. The brand says Pineal Guardian is “designed to help support memory function and may contribute to brain health,” that it is based on a “closely guarded formula” of hard-to-source ingredients, and that ingredients are tested for purity. The site also states that the product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.
Here is what the science says about the pineal angle. Pineal calcification is common: a 2023 systematic review and meta-analysis estimated that it is present in more than 60% of people studied, increasing with age. It is usually found incidentally on brain scans. We found no clinical evidence that any supplement, including the ingredients in this formula, reverses pineal calcification, and no evidence that “detoxing” the pineal gland improves memory or produces spiritual effects. We therefore evaluate Pineal Guardian on its actual ingredients and the brain health claims it makes.
What the ingredients actually do
Bacopa monnieri
Bacopa is the ingredient with the most relevant evidence. A 2014 meta-analysis of nine randomized trials found that standardized bacopa extract improved some measures of attention speed and reaction time. Those trials typically used about 300 mg of standardized extract daily for 12 weeks. Pineal Guardian does not disclose its bacopa amount, and a few drops of liquid are unlikely to deliver anything close to that.
Lion’s mane mushroom
Lion’s mane has early human data. In a small 2009 Japanese trial of 30 older adults with mild cognitive impairment, those taking 3 grams of dried mushroom powder daily for 16 weeks scored better on a cognitive scale than those on placebo, though the benefit faded after they stopped. That dose is thousands of times larger than a single drop of liquid could contain.
Ginkgo biloba
Ginkgo is one of the best-studied memory herbs, and the results are largely disappointing. According to the NCCIH, ginkgo did not reduce dementia risk in large studies, including one following more than 3,000 older adults for about six years, and its use for brain health in healthy people is uncertain. Ginkgo can also increase bleeding risk in people on blood thinners.
Pine bark extract
French maritime pine bark extract (best known as the branded Pycnogenol) has a number of placebo-controlled trials across many health areas, including cognition, summarized in a 2024 review written by authors with ties to the ingredient’s manufacturer. Those trials used specific standardized extracts, typically around 100 to 150 mg per day. Pineal Guardian does not say which pine bark extract it uses or how much.
Chlorella, spirulina and moringa
These are nutrient-dense “green” foods. Meta-analyses suggest chlorella (2018) and spirulina (2023) can modestly improve cholesterol and other cardiovascular markers, generally at doses of several grams per day. Moringa has promising but limited human research, reviewed here. None has meaningful evidence for memory, and the amounts in a liquid drop would be nutritionally trivial.
Tamarind and neem
Tamarind is a tropical fruit with many traditional uses and laboratory findings, reviewed here, but no human evidence for brain health. Neem is a traditional Ayurvedic plant with antimicrobial uses; a 2021 toxicity review notes that relatively few in vivo safety studies exist. Neither has any established role in memory or pineal function.
Who it may suit, and who should skip it
Pineal Guardian may appeal to someone drawn to the pineal gland concept who wants a simple daily liquid. Realistically, though, the formula gives buyers almost nothing to evaluate: no doses, no extract types, and a dosing instruction (one drop per day) that cannot plausibly deliver studied amounts of any ingredient. We also could not reconcile “one drop per day” with the stated one-month supply per 60 mL bottle, so check the label on arrival.
People who want evidence-based support for memory and focus will do better with the basics: regular exercise, good sleep, managing blood pressure, staying socially and mentally active, and checking with a doctor about medications, thyroid function and vitamin B12, all of which the National Institute on Aging lists as factors that can affect memory. Someone set on trying a supplement would be better served by a single-ingredient bacopa product with a stated, standardized dose.
Skip it, or talk to your doctor first, if you take blood thinners or antiplatelet drugs (ginkgo, and possibly pine bark, may increase bleeding risk), take diabetes medication, have an autoimmune condition (spirulina and chlorella may stimulate the immune system), take thyroid medication (bacopa may affect thyroid hormones), are pregnant, trying to conceive or breastfeeding, or are buying it for a child. Anyone with noticeable or worsening memory problems should see a doctor rather than self-treat.
Price, guarantee and where to buy
The official site does not offer a single bottle. The two-bottle “trial package” is $69 per bottle ($138 total), the four-bottle package is $59 per bottle ($236 total), and the six-bottle package is $39 per bottle ($234 total) with free shipping. Oddly, six bottles cost slightly less in total than four. The site claims most customers choose six bottles and shows a star rating based on thousands of reviews, which we could not verify. International orders pay extra shipping.
Pineal Guardian comes with a 365-day money-back guarantee, which is unusually long. The FAQ says you can return what you have not used for a full refund. Orders are processed by ClickBank, which also handles refunds. Buy only from the official site so you are covered by that guarantee; listings on other marketplaces may not be genuine.
Our verdict
Pineal Guardian bundles a popular internet idea, pineal gland detox, with a list of reasonable-sounding ingredients, but it discloses no amounts and asks you to take a single drop per day. Bacopa and lion’s mane have some early evidence for cognition, but only at doses far beyond what a drop of liquid can provide. Ginkgo has largely failed in large trials, and the green superfoods offer nothing specific for memory. The site’s reference list is padded with unrelated studies, which further undermines confidence.
We give Pineal Guardian 2.4 out of 5. It earns points for an exceptionally long 365-day refund window and a lower per-bottle price on the six-pack, and for avoiding stimulants. It loses heavily for zero dose transparency, implausible dosing, marketing built on an unproven pineal theory, and padded scientific references. If memory or focus is your concern, start with sleep, exercise and a conversation with your doctor.
Ingredients and the evidence behind them
| Ingredient | Amount | Why it’s included | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pine bark extract | Not disclosed (no amounts listed for any ingredient) | Included as an antioxidant for circulation and brain health. | Limited |
| Tamarind | Not disclosed (no amounts listed for any ingredient) | Included as a traditional fruit ingredient; the brand does not explain its specific role. | Preliminary |
| Chlorella | Not disclosed (no amounts listed for any ingredient) | Included as a 'detox' green algae, a common ingredient in pineal and heavy metal cleanse products. | Limited |
| Ginkgo biloba | Not disclosed (no amounts listed for any ingredient) | Included as a traditional memory and circulation herb. | Limited |
| Spirulina | Not disclosed (no amounts listed for any ingredient) | Included as a nutrient-dense 'green' superfood. | Limited |
| Lion's mane mushroom | Not disclosed (no amounts listed for any ingredient) | Included as a nootropic mushroom for memory and nerve health. | Preliminary |
| Bacopa monnieri | Not disclosed (no amounts listed for any ingredient) | Included as the formula's main memory herb. | Moderate |
| Moringa | Not disclosed (no amounts listed for any ingredient) | Included as a nutrient-dense antioxidant leaf. | Preliminary |
| Neem | Not disclosed (no amounts listed for any ingredient) | Included as a traditional Ayurvedic 'purifying' herb. | Preliminary |
Each ingredient links to its own page with the research, typical doses and safety notes.
Side effects and who should avoid it
No safety data exist for Pineal Guardian as a finished product, and with no doses disclosed, the risk from any single ingredient is hard to judge. Ginkgo can increase bleeding risk, especially with warfarin and other blood thinners, and pine bark may also affect clotting; stop both before surgery. Bacopa can cause nausea, cramps and loose stools, may slow heart rate and may affect thyroid hormones. Spirulina and chlorella may stimulate the immune system and can be contaminated if poorly sourced; chlorella contains vitamin K, which affects warfarin. Neem should be avoided in pregnancy and by anyone trying to conceive, and neem oil is dangerous for children. Moringa, tamarind, neem, lion’s mane and pine bark may lower blood sugar. Do not use this product if you are pregnant, trying to conceive or breastfeeding, and do not give it to children. Talk to your doctor before use if you take blood thinners, diabetes or thyroid medication, immunosuppressants or any prescription drug, or have an autoimmune condition.
FAQ
Does Pineal Guardian decalcify the pineal gland?
There is no clinical evidence that Pineal Guardian, or any of its ingredients, reverses pineal gland calcification, which is common and usually found incidentally on brain scans. The brand's visible claims focus on supporting memory and brain health.
What are the ingredients in Pineal Guardian?
Pine bark extract, tamarind, chlorella, ginkgo biloba, spirulina, lion's mane mushroom, Bacopa monnieri, moringa and neem. The brand does not list how much of each ingredient the liquid contains.
Does Pineal Guardian improve memory?
There are no studies of Pineal Guardian itself. Bacopa and lion's mane have some evidence for cognition, but only at doses of hundreds of milligrams to grams per day, far more than a daily drop of liquid is likely to contain.
How do you take Pineal Guardian?
The official site says to shake the bottle and take one drop per day, preferably in the morning, on its own or in a drink. Check the label on your bottle, since one drop per day does not match the stated one-month supply per 60 mL bottle.
How much does Pineal Guardian cost?
On the official site, two bottles cost $138 ($69 each), four bottles cost $236 ($59 each) and six bottles cost $234 ($39 each) with free shipping. A single bottle is not offered.
Is there a money-back guarantee?
Yes. Pineal Guardian offers a 365-day money-back guarantee, and orders are processed by ClickBank. Buy only from the official site to be covered.
Sources
- pinealguardianvip.com
- pinealguardianvip.com/shippingvip.php
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36879256
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/24252493
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/18844328
- nccih.nih.gov/health/ginkgo
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/38757130
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29037431
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/37263369
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25808883
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/22096321
- pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33419112
- nia.nih.gov/health/memory-loss-and-forgetfulness/memory-problems-forgetfulness-and-aging
